The University of Maine Art Collection was established in 1946. In 1988, it became the University of Maine Museum of Art. The museum relocated in 2002 to downtown Bangor where it has taken on a new role as a regional fine arts center. The museum is in the first floor of Norumbega Hall, a historic downtown building that formerly housed a department store. The Bangor facility allows the museum to showcase a greater proportion of its collection and enhances the burgeoning arts scene of the region's largest city. The Museum of Art remains the only institution owned by the citizens of the State of Maine to house a permanent fine arts collection.